Connacht down 14-man Cheetahs in PRO14 thriller

Cape Town – The Cheetahs have suffered their first PRO14 loss of the season as they lost in injury time to Connacht at The Sportsground on Saturday.

As it happened | Connacht v Cheetahs

Connacht won 24-22 after leading 14-5 at half-time.

The home side crossed the whitewash four times through Niyi Adeolokun, Kieran Marmion and a brace by Thomas Farrell. Conor Fitzgerald landed two conversions.

Meanwhile, Hawies Fourie’s side scored three tries through Joseph Dweba, Rhyno Smith and Clayton Blommetjies.

Skipper Ryan Pienaar slotted two conversions and a penalty.

With the Cheetahs ahead 22-14 in the 70th minute, centre Dries Swanepoel received a straight red card following a head charge. His indiscipline proved costly as the Irish side took full advantage in the final 10 minutes.

The Cheetahs remain on top of the Conference A standings after three wins and a loss.

The Cheetahs will face the Llanelli Scarlets at the Parc y Scarlets on Saturday, November 2 (17:00 SA time) in their next match.



Tries: Niyi Adeolokun, Kieran Marmion, Thomas Farrell

Conversions: Conor Fitzgerald (2)


Tries: Joseph Dweba, Rhyno Smith, Clayton Blommetjies

Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (2)

Penalty: Pienaar



15 Stephen Fitzgerald, 14 Niyi Adeolokun, 13 Kyle Godwin, 12 Peter Robb, 11 John Porch, 10 Conor Fitzgerald, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 Denis Buckley, 7 Tom McCartney, 6 Finlay Bealham, 5 Gavin Thornbury, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Eoghan Masterson, 2 Jarrad Butler (C), 1 Paul Boyle

Substitutes: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Matthew Burke, 18 Dominic Robertson-McCoy, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Cillian Gallagher, 21 Caolin Blade, 22 Tom Farrell, 23 Darragh Leader 


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Majezi, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 George Whitehead, 23 William Small-Smith

– Compiled by Lynn Butler

Exit mobile version